We are often asked by our clients about insurance coverages required by law in California. The California Insurance Code Section 11580.1b requires all passenger vehicles to carry liability insurance coverage with the following minimum limits:
- $15,000 for injury/death to one person.
- $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person.
- $5,000 for damage to property.
Although the law only requires the above-listed coverages, we often recommend that our clients consider purchasing the following additional coverages:
- Comprehensive Coverage for your vehicle in case of vandalism or theft;
- Collision Coverage for your vehicle in case an accident;
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage for injuries to occupants of your vehicle in case of an accident caused by an uninsured driver;
- Underinsured Motorist Coverage for injuries to occupants of your vehicle in case of an accident caused by a driver who is not adequately insured;
- Medical Payment Coverage for medical bills of the occupants of your vehicle, incurred as a result of an accident regardless of fault.
These coverages may not be appropriate for everyone. Please feel free to contact a California car accident lawyer in our office with any questions regarding your insurance coverage.
You may also contact our office to discuss how these coverages apply in case of a motor vehicle accident.