Who Is Responsible When a California Rideshare Driver Causes a Car Accident?

Rideshare companies like Uber and Lyft have revolutionized the way we get from point A to point B, making it significantly easier for passengers to hail a ride. Indeed, by all accounts, passengers nationwide have adopted the new technology with open arms. By some estimates, rideshare drivers provided service to approximately 45 million passengers last year. What is more, that figure is expected to rise to over 70 million passengers by 2022.

Golden Gate BridgeIt is not surprising, then, that the number of car accidents involving rideshare drivers has increased correspondingly. Making matters worse is the fact that rideshare companies do little to ensure that their drivers are “good drivers.” In most cases, all someone needs to qualify to be a rideshare driver is three years of driving experience, a clean driving record, and an insured vehicle.

While rideshare companies do not apply a rigorous selection criteria to their drivers, they do maintain significant insurance in the event of an accident. The two largest rideshare companies, Uber and Lyft, each maintain $1 million of insurance on behalf of their drivers. This insurance covers the driver from the moment they accept a passenger’s request for a ride until the passenger is dropped off. The policy will generally cover an injury to the driver or the passenger, as well as any third parties injured in an accident that was caused by the driver’s negligence.

Not all accidents involving a rideshare driver will occur while the driver is on their way to pick up a passenger or while the passenger is inside the driver’s vehicle. In these cases, the rideshare company’s hefty $1 million insurance policy will not apply, and instead a reduced liability-only policy applies. The limits of these policies are generally $50,000 per person or a total of $100,000 per accident.

It is important for California accident victims to keep in mind that if a rideshare driver is using their vehicle for personal reasons when they cause an accident, or the driver’s actions are reckless or intentional, the rideshare company’s insurance policy may not cover the accident. That being said, California law requires all drivers (including rideshare drivers) to maintain a certain amount of insurance coverage, and an accident victim can still file a claim with the driver’s personal insurance policy.

Have You Been Injured in a California Rideshare Accident?

If you or a loved one has recently been injured in a California Lyft accident or another rideshare accident, you may be entitled to monetary compensation. The dedicated California personal injury attorneys at Sharifi Firm have extensive experience handling all types of California car accident claims, including claims in which an insurance company initially denies coverage. We are experienced in taking on insurance companies head-on, and we have a successful track record on behalf of our clients. To learn more, and to speak with a dedicated California injury attorney about your case, call 866-4-CAR-ACCIDENT. Calling is free, and we will not bill you for our services unless we are able to help you obtain the compensation you deserve.

More Blog Posts:

How Do Courts Apportion Liability in California Personal Injury Cases Involving Multiple At-Fault Parties?, Southern California Injury Lawyer Blog, February 5, 2018

Hit-and-Run Accidents in Southern California, Southern California Injury Lawyer Blog, January 19, 2018

Contact Information